Book Your CSCS Test

Apply & Renew CSCS Card Now

How to book CSCS test and renew or apply for CSCS card

Our training and test facilities allow candidates to take the CITB test (often, not strictly correctly, referred to as CSCS test or CSCS card test) and apply for the CSCS card that is required to work for almost all reputable building companies in the UK.

CSCS (Construction Skills Certification Scheme) cards appropriate to the role of the card holder assure any potential employer that the card holder is trained to complete the work in a safe and appropriate manner. They also guarantee that the card holder knows the current health & safety legislation rules that apply at British construction sites.

CSCS card proves that the holder has completed the CITB Health, Safety and Environment test as well as holds the appropriate mandatory qualifications. The qualifications required depend on the type of CSCS card: for example, the CSCS Labourer card (commonly known as the CSCS green card) requires an RQF Level 1/SCQF Level 4 Award in Health and Safety in a Construction Environment, an SCQF Level 5 REHIS Elementary Health and Safety Certificate, or an alternative qualification. Although it’s not required by law that construction site employees hold a CSCS card, a card is demanded by the vast majority of employers and it would be very difficult to be legally hired in the UK construction sector without passing the CITB health and safety test and holding a valid CITB CSCS card.

Construction sector employers are legally required to ensure that people who work for them are competent and can do the work safely. The CITB CSCS test and card combination offer an easy way to ensure that requirement is fulfilled.

To obtain a CSCS card you need to pass the official CITB Health, Safety and Environment test and send a correct application form. You also need to hold or obtain a qualification relevant for the type of card you are applying for. You can complete your CSCS test booking directly with us.

Our dedicated team will take care of you and make sure that the whole process, from filling in the correct data in the application form to getting you to the right CSCS test centre goes as smoothly as possible.

We will also provide you with learning materials that will help you pass the CSCS test. Online application is the fastest and easiest way to book health and safety test needed to get your CSCS operative test or any other CSCS card test you need.

Please note that it is not possible to take the CSCS card test online. Although the test is a PC-based, touch-screen test, it has to be taken in person in a test centre. The test takes around 45 minutes to complete. It consists of 50 questions regarding health & safety at work, specific to the construction sites, and work-related hazards. There are two types of questions:

  • 38 multiple choice questions
  • 12 behavioral case study questions (where candidate needs to find the best way out of the presented situations)

One you pass the test you will receive a CSCS test pass certificate valid for 2 years and you will be able to order your provisional red CSCS card – a temporary card valid for 6 months which cannot be renewed.

Depending on your qualifications, you will be then able to book a 1-day Level 1 Health & Safety course and exam. With this qualification and the provisional card, you will be entitled to order a green (labourer) CSCS card valid for 5 years and renewable.

CSCS card types

CSCS Red Card

(CSCS Experienced Worker Card)

this is a type of non-renewable ”trainee” card for workers with on-the-job experience registered to a complete a construction related NVQ or SVQ Level 2 or higher, acceptable for a CSCS card.

CSCS Red Card

CSCS Experienced Technical, Supervisor or Manager Card

This is a higher-level type of a non-renewable ”trainee” card for Supervisors, Managers and Technical Workers with on-the-job experience (normally at least one year in the last three) who are in the process of completing a construction-related NVQ or SVQ Level 3 or higher.

CSCS Blue Card

(CSCS Skilled Worker Card) – for people with a construction related NVQ or SVQ level 2 or a completed apprenticeship, a City and Guilds Craft Certificate or a CSCS Approved Trailblazer.

CSCS Gold Card

(CSCS Advanced Craft Card) – for people with a construction related NVQ or SVQ level 3; an approved indentured apprenticeship; or an employer sponsored apprenticeship with a City and Guilds Advanced Craft Certificate.

CSCS Gold Card

(CSCS Supervisory Card) – for people with a construction related supervisory or technical NVQ or SVQ Level 3 or 4 or Occupational Work Supervision NVQ or SVQ Level 3.

CSCS Black Card

(CSCS Manager Card) – for people with a construction management/technical or related NVQ/SVQ level 5, 6 or 7; an SVQ Level 4 in construction management/technical related qualification or with a pre-existing NVQ level 4 in construction management.

CSCS White Card

(CSCS Academically Qualified Person Card) – for people who have certain construction-related academic degrees, HNDs, HNCs, CIOB Certificates and NEBOSH diplomas.

CSCS White Card

(CSCS Professionally Qualified Person Card) – for people who are competence-assessed members of certain professional bodies, for example ICE, RICS, The Institution of Structural Engineers and others.

Withdrawn cards, some still valid until expiry date

  • Construction Site Operative (CSO) green card
  • Construction Related Occupation (CRO) white card
  • Construction Site Visitor card yellow card

Would you like to check the CSCS card price? Interested in CSCS test price? Want to find out about our CSCS training? Or are you ready to book your CSCS test?

What people say about our construction courses?

Very helpful staff, Mick and Joe are great blokes and very good teachers. Big thank you for all your help and support. I definitely recommend the courses.
Richard Gibson